Why do YOU write?

Posted on

by Lauren Dionysius

Do YOU have stories that burn at your insides?  Words buried deep within your soul?  How do you get them out?  Do they even need to be told?  What is their purpose?

My answers to these questions have always been:  yes, yes, dunno, dunno, not sure….respectively.  I’ve always had words and stories that refused to let me go.  Words that grab me by the hand with the urgency of a two-year-old and plead with me to find pen and paper and just, well…write.  While I’ve always loved to write, I just didn’t know how to get them out and what to do with them once I had.  And, I didn’t even know if my stories needed to be told….maybe I just had a crazy, overactive mind?!  After all, who would want to read my words and would they even help anyone?  This was when I realised the purpose behind my words….to help other people (with the added bonus of clearing that crazy, overactive mind of mine!).  So, I started writing my stories in journals, then began to share with friends and family in a blog, and now bravely, but unashamedly, with the world.

open book of family story

I often think about all the other writers out there and wonder how we can all co-exist together.  Are there enough readers for all of our words?  Why DO people write?  Obviously I cannot answer for others, but this is why I write:

I write about my adventures, my travels and the people I’ve met so I can keep these memories alive.  I share these life experiences to inspire and motivate others to travel and experience new adventures.  I write because it’s cathartic.   My words comfort me like a warm, cozy blanket on a cold night.  They give me a creative outlet to explore my heart and my mind, and teach me more about who I am, so I can grow as a person.   As I write from my heart about past pain and hurt, I learn to heal myself and hope that by sharing them they will resonate with even just one other person out there and help them feel less alone in the world.  This is ALWAYS why I share my words and this gives me the strength to push through the gnawing “what ifs” of rejection and vulnerability and purpose that seem inevitable when you dare to put your words out there for the big, wide world to see.

So, what are your stories?  And, what is stopping you from putting pen to paper?  Remember, no-one else can write how you write and no-one else can write YOUR words into YOUR stories.  Plus, among the billions of people on this planet there will always be someone out there who needs to read what only YOUR words have to say!  This is why all of us writers can co-exist.  There are plenty of readers for all of our words.

No more excuses, okay? Ready….set….GO WRITE!

Lauren Dionysius is a 30-something Registered Nurse chasing bigger dreams.  She’s passionate about writing, bikram yoga and wholefood nutrition and is in the process of combining these into her dream career.  She lives in Bundaberg, Queensland but travels regularly overseas seeking new life experiences, from volunteering in Africa, or a writing retreat in Italy, to yoga in Bali, and studying nutritional healing in the USA.  She thrives on growth and deepening her awareness of world we live in.  She is a writer, an editor & a hungry soul searcher.
Lauren Dionysius, winner of the Inaugural Umoja Writing Competition with her trophy.
Guest Blogger Lauren Dionysius, winner of the Inaugural Umoja Writing Competition with her trophy.

 

2 thoughts on “Why do YOU write?

    controversialcook said:
    April 24, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    Writing is one thing, finding readers is another and a much more difficult one.

    Like

      donnadmunro said:
      April 29, 2015 at 8:13 am

      Yes, I agree. You have to promote yourself and lots of writers find that aspect more difficult than the writing process.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

